vasttest.blogg.se

Markx 2016
Markx 2016







markx 2016

I wonder how these diametrically opposed developments can be matched. For their future careers “excellent publications” are required. On the other hand, society expects doctoral students to successfully finish their degrees within less time. However, I am under the impression that the amount of data that referees (and in chemistry these are usually fellow scientists) request for publication is ever increasing. Publishing is essential for bringing scientific results to the attention of a broad audience and is thus indispensable. Has your approach to publishing your results changed since the start of your career? My favorite drink is together with a good friend. Last time I went to the pub I stayed far too long. Looking back over my career, I am a happy man. Young people should study chemistry because it is the future. Science is fun because something new is discovered every day.

markx 2016

The biggest challenge facing scientists is the ever-growing bureaucracy. I am waiting for the day when someone will discover the perfect peer-review system. When I was eighteen I wanted to be a bartender. The greatest scientific advance of the last decade was next-generation sequencing. The natural talent I would like to be gifted with is playing the piano. The book that impressed me most is If this is a Man (United States title: Survival in Auschwitz) by Primo Levi. What I appreciate most about my friends is honesty, tolerance, and outspokenness. The most important thing I learned from my students is that my presence in the office is not necessarily required for innovative progress! If I had one year of paid leave I would travel more with my family. My science “heroes” are those women and men who achieved so much under miserable circumstances. My favorite way to spend a holiday is with my family. I advise my students to become “stewards of chemistry and chemical biology”. In a spare hour, I enjoy a good glass of red wine and Bill Evans. Thus, our current research comprises the targeted synthesis of functional (bio)molecules (e.g., nucleotides, oligonucleotides, proteins), and their subsequent application in order to explore complex biological processes. The aim of our research is to gain insights into mechanisms of complex biological processes through application of synthetic molecules with tailored functions and properties. Professor of Organic Chemistry/Cellular Chemistry, University of Konstanzġ994 Diploma in Chemistry after studies at the Universities of Freiburg, Sussex, and Bochum 1997 Doctorate with Professor Bernd Giese, University of Basel 1997–1999 Postdoctoral research fellow with Professor Hisashi Yamamoto, Nagoya University 2000–2003 Junior research group leader at the University of Bonn habilitation in organic chemistry/biochemistryĢ013 ERC Advanced Grant 2014 Karl Heinz Beckurts Prize









Markx 2016